

YOUNG LAWYERS DIVISION KENTUCKY BAR ASSOCIATION

# EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING Thursday, June 22, 2023 at 1:00 p.m. EST Hyatt, Thoroughbred Room 430 W. Vine Street, Lexington, KY 40507

**Executive Committee Members Present:** Lee Metzger; Elizabeth Combs; Don Combs; Kyle Bunnell; Kelsey Lee Bryant; Chapin Scheumann Megan Keane; Christine Stanley.

**Executive Committee Member Absent:** Joye Beth Spinks; Jennifer Andrews; Kristen Cody; Jennifer Dominici; Elivia Rabe; Chapin Scheumann; Kortney Simmons; Michael Roberts; Nia Jolly; Nyka Cossel; Briona Bluford; Cassie Carter; Sebastian Torres; Olivia Amlung; Ken Foisy; Lexy Holland; Tina Nance; Brittany Riley; Ryan Mosley; Jonas Bastien; Janet Luo; Franklin Milam; Sam Reinhardt; Whitney Rowe; Calesia Henson; Alex Stewart.

# I. <u>Call to Order/Opening Remarks (Lee Metzger, Chair)</u>

Mr. Metzger called the meeting to order at 1:17 p.m. EST after the 2023 YLD Annual Awards Luncheon.

# II. Officer Reports

# A. Chair: Lee Metzger

1. Mr. Metzger thanked everyone for a successful year, congratulated the newly elected members of Executive Committee, as well as the following award winners who were recognized at the YLD Luncheon:

2023 YLD Annual Awards

Service to Young Lawyers Award: Judge Shelley Santry Young Lawyer Service to Community Award: Tyler Ward Nathaniel R. Harper Diversity Award: ELPO Legal Diversity Pipeline Project Outstanding Young Lawyer Award: Ryan Biggerstaff

2023 Legal Food Frenzy Awards

Attorney General Cup: Gordon & Rees, Scully, Mansukhani, LLP Bar President Award Winner: Andrea N. Vetter, PLLC Large Law Firm Winner: Wyatt Tarrant & Combs, LLP-Louisville Mid-Sized Law Firm Winner: Casey, Bailey & Maines, PLLC Small Law Firm Winner: Baldani Law Group Solo Law Firm Winner: Sexton Law, PSC Corporate Legal Department Winner: Glenview Trust Government and Public Service Legal Department Winner: LFUCG-Department of Law 2023 Executive Committee Awards Outstanding District Representative: Ryan Mosley Outstanding Executive Committee Member: Sam Reinhardt Outstanding Coordinator: Chapin Scheumann

2023 YLD Bar Study Scholarship Recipients Katie Nelson Adrian De Valle Abby Klaber Emily Hensley-Dial

# B. Chair Elect: Elizabeth Combs

1. Ms. Combs thanked Mr. Metzger for his service to the YLD and his leadership over the past year as Chair.

#### C. Vice-Chair: Don Combs

1. The minutes from the April 22, 2023 meeting will be circulated at the Summer Meeting in Paducah for review and approval.

# III. District Representative Reports

No District Representative reports were given.

### IV. <u>Committee Reports</u>

No Committee Reports were given.

V. <u>Old Business</u> Nothing to report at this time.

#### VI. <u>New Business</u>

Ms. Combs reminded everyone of the summer meeting and stated she looks forward to seeing everyone in Paducah for the annual summer meeting.

#### VII. Adjournment

Motion made by: Mr. Bunnell

Seconded: Ms. Bryant

Motion Passed.

 Next YLD In-Person Meeting – Annual Summer Meeting, July 21, 2023 in Paducah, Kentucky.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Kyle R. Bunnell

Kyle R. Bunnell KBA YLD Vice-Chair